State of Oregon
Employment
Department

STEPS OF FILING AN
UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE CLAIM

Before you apply: Gather information

To file for unemployment insurance, you must provide your name, Social Security number, birthdate
and contact information. If you are not a U.S. citizen, you can use your USCIS number, A-number or

[-94 number.

You must provide your complete work history for the past 18 months. This includes employer names,

employer addresses, employer phone numbers and dates of employment.

STEP 0 1

File an initial claim

Online: File for
unemployment insurance
payments at

unemployment.oregon.qov.

Phone: Call 877-345-3484.

STEPO 2
m

File weekly claims

To start getting
unemployment benefits,
you also need to file weekly
claims. You must wait

until Sunday to submit the
previous week’s claim.

Online: Claim a week of
benefits at
frances.oreqon.gov.

Phone: Claim a week of
benefits by calling
800-982-8920.

STEP 03

Be ready to return
to work

Be able to work, available

to work and actively seeking
work. People who get
unemployment benefits are
required to look for work and
document their job search.
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Frequently Asked Questions

What is unemployment insurance?

Unemployment insurance provides money to people who are unemployed or have had their hours
reduced through no fault of their own. Weekly payments support people who are actively looking for
work.

Can | get unemployment insurance?

Many workers qualify for unemployment insurance, even if their employer says they are gig
workers. You must have a work history within the past 18 months, and there are other wage
requirements. We encourage people to file for unemployment insurance so we can provide them
any benefits they have earned.

When do [ file a weekly claim?

To keep getting benefits, you need to file a weekly claim every week, in addition to your initial claim.
A week is Sunday through Saturday. You must wait until Sunday to submit the previous week’s
claim. File a weekly claim even if you worked that week.

What if | worked?

You may still be eligible for benefits if you work less than 40 hours and made less than your weekly
benefit amount. Be sure to report the hours that you worked during a week. You must report your
gross earnings for each week, even if you have not been paid yet.

How much can | get?

The amount you earned during a 12-month period, called a base year, determines your weekly
benefit amount. The minimum and maximum weekly benefit is set by law.

Need help?

This information is vital. The Oregon Employment Department (OED) is an equal opportunity agency. OED provides
free help so you can use our services. Some examples are sign language and spoken-language interpreters, written
materials in other languages, large print, audio, and other formats. To get help, please go to unemployment.oregon.gov

and click on Contact Us or call us at 877-345-3484. TTY users call 711.
¢Necesita ayuda?

Esta informacion es vital. El Departamento de Empleo de Oregon (OED) es una agencia de igualdad de oportunidades.
El OED proporciona ayuda gratuita para que usted pueda utilizar nuestros servicios. Algunos ejemplos son intérpretes
de lengua de sefias e idiomas hablados, materiales escritos en otros idiomas, letra grande, audio y otros formatos.
Para obtener ayuda, vaya a unemployment.oregon.gov/es y haga clic en Contacto o llamenos al 877-345-3484.
Usuarios de TTY pueden llamar al 711.
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