Skip to main content

裁决

如果我们发现存在某些问题,怀疑申请人是否有申请福利的资格,则在这种情况下必须进行调查。虽然许多问题可以通过快速跟进问题来解决,但很多时候,我们需要通过裁决程序进行更彻底的审查。一些需要裁决的常见问题包括:

  1. 如果申请人辞职,确定该情况下该申请人是否符合福利领取资格
  1. 2. 如果申请人被解雇,确定该情况下该申请人是否符合福利领取资格
  1. 3. 如果申请人拒绝接受工作机会,确定该情况下该申请人是否符合福利领取资格
  1. 4. 对于在教育机构工作的人,在每一个学年或学期之间的放假期间,我们必须判断他们是否有可能在放假后从事与以前一样的工作,来确认他们能否在放假期间获得福利
  1. 如果申请人不能工作

卫生部在疫情初期通过的暂行规则大大减少了需要裁决的问题数量。即便如此,仍然有大量的申请人希望获得福利,所以我们需要裁决的问题数量将是有史以来最多的。

然而,如果我们现在确认了一项问题需要裁决,则很可能我们需要12-14周来完成裁决。我们知道对于申请人而言,这是不可接受的,所以我们:

  1. 雇佣了更多的仲裁员。疫情开始前,我们有大约80位仲裁员。而现在,我们有300多位。
  1. 2. 我们开战了新的培训,培训方式和以往相比更为集中,将正常的培训时间从15周缩短到5周,培训的一部分是让仲裁员专门处理特定问题,帮助他们完全了解这些问题,并更快地开始解决问题。
  1. 3. 仲裁员知道有很多人需要他们做出决定,所以经常加班。
  1. 4. 我们改变了工作分配的方式,避免出现意外,延迟裁决,并确保仲裁员能够尽快解决案件。
  1. 5. 我们正在分析数据,了解哪些问题最为重要,以及如何更有效地解决这些问题。我们也在积极探索是否可以进行其他流程变革,从而更快地为人们带来福利。

更新7/31/20:

我们创立了一个新的机制,为那些已经申请常规失业保险或大规模流行性疾病失业援助(PUA),且等待资格审查的申请者提供便利。我们称之为“等待期间福利”

如果您符合“等待期间福利”机制的申请资格,我们会联系您。(BWYW)如果您符合以下条件,则可能有资格申请:

  1. 您已申请常规失业保险金;
  1. 2. 因就业部门必须确定是否符合法定要求,所以您的申请被标记为等待裁决,暂时无法获得失业保险金;
  1. COVID-19原因而失业;及
  1. 如果不能领取常规失业救济金,则很可能有资格申请PUA。

要获得“等待期间福利”,申请大规模流行性疾病失业援助(PUA),并在申请中告知我们:1) 导致您失业的COVID-19相关原因,以及2)第一次受该原因影响的日期。在申请PUA后,请在您希望获得福利金的各周继续提交每周常规失业保险(UI)申请。不要每周提交PUA申请。

我们将审查您的PUA申请,确认是否符合条件。如果您符合申请条件,我们将会了解您至少有资格参加一项计划,则可以开始向您支付福利金。我们将向您支付常规失业保险福利,直到您的失业保险申请完成裁决。如果最终仲裁员认为您有资格获得常规失业保险福利,那么我们将继续向您发放福利。只要您确保自己符合申请条件,每周提交申请表,就可以获得失业保险福利。如果仲裁员认为您不符合常规失业保险福利的申请条件,我们会把您的申请转移到PUA计划中。如果您的PUA每周福利金额更高,我们将向您补偿过去几周您获得的常规失业保险金额的差额。您可以一次性获得几笔付款。

我们需要让您知道,这有可能导致超额支付,未来您将不得不偿还。如果您更愿意等待福利,则无须采取任何行动。

在等待期间,我收到了一项关于福利的通知,但我已经收到了常规失业保险福利,并且裁决显示并无问题。

您错误地收到了推定支付电子邮件。不需要采取任何行动。

我申请了常规失业保险福利,正在等待裁决,并且也申请了PUA。现在怎么办?

不需要采取任何行动,OED的工作人员正在积极地确定符合BWYW条件的申请人,如果他们需要更多的信息,他们将通知申请人。申请人无需重新提交申请。您需要继续每周申请常规失业保险,但不需要每周申请PUA。

我申请了常规失业保险福利,正在等待裁决,但并未申请PUA。现在怎么办?

如果申请人因与COVID-19相关的原因而失业,您应提交PUA申请,并继续每周申请常规失业保险福利。如果您并未受到COVID-19的影响,则可能没有资格参加BWYW。如果您已经申请了PUA,您可能会收到自动生成的PUA拒绝信,因为您有资格获得常规失业保险福利。但是这并不代表您无法参与BWYW,不需要采取任何行动。如果我们需要您提供更多信息,我们会联系您。

如果我的常规失业保险申请显示有处罚周,我有资格申请BWYW吗?

您可以选择在常规失业保险申请中接受处罚周,或如果您因COVID-19直接影响而失业,可以申请参与PUA计划。

符合BWYW资格的客户需要多长时间才能拿到福利金额?

大约四周。

什么是推定支付和BWYW?

推定支付是指,在我们认为申请人有资格获得现行常规/扩展项目或PUA项目支持时,提前为申请人支付的援助金。BWYW是我们在向俄勒冈居民发送信息时,用以代替推定支付的名称。

BWYW福利有资格获得联邦大型流行性疾病失业补偿(FPUC)吗?

是的,BWYW属于常规失业保险。申请人将收到第14/20周至第30/20周之间所有申请周的FPUC付款。

Skip to main content

Adjudication

When we become aware of issues that call into question whether someone can receive benefits, we are legally required to look into it. While many issues can be resolved with quick follow up questions, many times it requires a more thorough review through an adjudication process. Some common issues that require adjudication:

  1. If somebody quits their job, determining if the circumstances disqualify them from getting benefits
  2. If somebody is fired, finding out if the circumstances disqualify them from getting benefits
  3. If somebody does not accept work that is offered to them, finding out if the circumstances disqualify them from getting benefits
  4. For people who work for educational institutions, every break between school years or terms, we must adjudicate whether they are likely to be doing the same type of work after the break as they did before to determine if they can receive benefits during the break
  5. If somebody is not available for work

The Department’s temporary rules, adopted early in the pandemic, have greatly reduced the number of issues that have to be adjudicated. Even with this, the huge number of people seeking benefits means we are facing a record number of issues needing to be adjudicated.

Unfortunately, this means that if we identify an issue today that needs to be adjudicated, it is likely to take 12 -14 weeks to complete the adjudication. We know this is not acceptable and here is what we are doing:

  1. We have already hired more adjudicators. Before the pandemic, we had about 80 adjudicators; we now have over 300.
  2. We have created new, focused and condensed training, reducing the normal training time from 15 weeks to 5– part of this is by having adjudicators specialize on particular issues so they can learn those completely and much more quickly start resolving issues.
  3. Adjudicators continue to work overtime, knowing how many people are depending on them.
  4. We changed how work is assigned so we can better ensure avoid inadvertent delays and to ensure people are resolving cases as quickly as possible.
  5. We are analyzing the data as we learn what issues are causing the most problems, and how we can more efficiently address them. We are also aggressively exploring whether we can make other process changes that may allow us to get benefits to people more quickly.

Update 10/19/20:

Benefits While You Wait (BWYW) is a program the Oregon Employment Department created to help Oregonians waiting for their claims to be adjudicated. Not all claims could be helped with with BWYW, however, 18,000 of the 49,000 people waiting for adjudication have received benefits because we’re confident they would be eligible.

I heard there were changes to the Benefits While You Wait (BWYW) program. What happened?

The U.S. Department of Labor advised the Oregon Employment Department that we can’t operate our BWYW as broadly as we were doing

I haven’t received any benefits yet but I was told by the Oregon Employment Department that I was eligible for BWYW.

I’m sorry that you were advised that you were eligible for this program. While the information you were given was true at the time, on Oct. 13, the U.S. Department of Labor advised us to end the program. Unfortunately we can’t process your claim for BWYW.

Will BWYW ever come back?

No. We don’t believe that the U.S. Department of Labor will change their guidance.

If I am getting BWYW now will those benefits stop with the guidance from the U.S. Department of Labor?

No. If we are already paying you benefits, we can keep doing so. In other words, the new guidance restricts how broadly we can use BWYW to begin paying people benefits after Oct. 13. It doesn’t impact those who are already receiving benefits under BWYW.

Who can get BWYW now with the new guidance from the U.S. Department of Labor?

You can get BWYW if you are in “continued claim” status. That means we were paying you benefits but your claim was stopped because we had a question.We have started reviewing claims in “continued claim” status and will reach out to you if we need more information.

What if you find out that I wasn’t eligible for BWYW and I received payments?

If you're found not to be eligible for either Unemployment Insurance (UI) or any other benefit program, and you received benefits BWYW, it would be an overpayment. We are legally required to pursue repayment of those benefits.


Update 7/31/20:
We have found a way to pay benefits to people waiting for their claim to be reviewed by an adjudicator to determine whether they are eligible for regular unemployment or the Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) program. We’re calling this “Benefits While You Wait.”

We will contact you if you may be able to receive “Benefits While You Wait.” (BWYW) You may be eligible if you:

  1. Applied for regular unemployment insurance (UI) benefits;
  2. Had your claim flagged for adjudication because the Employment Department has to determine if you meet the legal requirements to get regular unemployment benefits;
  3. Are out of work due to a COVID-19 qualifying reason; AND
  4. Are likely eligible for PUA if you cannot receive regular unemployment benefits.

To get "Benefits While You Wait," apply for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) and let us know in your application: 1) the COVID-19 reason you are out of work, and 2) the date you were first impacted by that reason. After you apply for PUA, keep filing weekly regular unemployment insurance (UI) claims for each week you want benefits. Do not file weekly PUA claims.

We will review your PUA application to see if you qualify. If you do, we will know you qualify for at least one program, which means we can start paying you benefits. We will pay you your regular UI benefits until your UI claim is adjudicated. If, at the end of the adjudication process, it turns out that you qualified for regular UI benefits, nothing will change. You will keep getting UI benefits as long as you file your weekly claims and you are eligible. If it turns out you didn’t qualify for regular UI, then we will move your claims into the PUA program. If your PUA weekly benefit amount is higher, we will also send you the increase for all the past weeks you got the regular UI amount. You may get several payments at once.

We are required to let you know that there is a chance this could result in overpayment that you would have to pay back. If you prefer to wait for benefits, no action is necessary.

I received a notification about benefits while you wait, but am already receiving regular UI benefits and do not have an issue in adjudication.

You received the presumptive pay email in error. There is no action needed.

I have a regular UI claim that is pending adjudication and have already applied for PUA. What now?

No action is needed, OED staff are actively working on identifying claimants that qualify for BWYW and will notify the claimant if they need additional information. The claimant does not need to resubmit their PUA application. You should continue to file weekly certs on their regular UI claim, and do not need to file weekly certs on the PUA claim.

I have a regular UI claim that is pending adjudication and have not applied for PUA. What now?

If the claimant is unemployed due to a reason related to COVID-19, you should file a PUA claim and continue to file weekly certs on their regular UI claim. If you were not impacted by COVID-19, they likely will not be eligible for BWYW. If you do apply for PUA, you will likely receive an auto generated PUA denial letter because you are eligible for regular UI. This does not mean you have been denied BWYW and no action is needed. You will be contacted if we need you to provide additional information.

If I have penalty weeks on my regular UI claim, will I qualify for BWYW?

You can choose to either serve your penalty weeks on their regular UI claim or request benefits from the PUA program if you have a COVID-19 impact reason.

How long will it take for a customer who is eligible for BWYW to get paid?

About four weeks.

What is presumptive pay and BWYW?

Presumptive pay is benefits paid because we believe the claimant will be eligible under one of the current regular/extension programs or PUA. BWYW is the name we are using instead of presumptive pay to message to Oregonians.

Are BWYW benefits eligible for Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC)?

Yes, BWYW benefits are regular UI benefits. The claimant will receive FPUC payments for all payable weeks between week 14/20 and 30/20.